Lemon and Flaxseed Muffin Recipe (Gluten, Egg, Dairy & Sugar Free)

imageInspired by the success of my gluten free baking from Elana’s Pantry, I attempted to create my own recipe for muffins.

I’ve always loved muffins.  They’re such delightful, well-sized portions of yumminess.  And the flavours are endless!  They also freeze well, so until I embarked on my raw food journey, I always had a batch of muffins in the freezer for a quick snack.

I truly wasn’t sure how these would turn out, but I was pleasantly surprised.  They still have a light texture, and whilst not overly sweet, they are still sweet enough to enjoy.

If you give these a try, please let me know how they turn out!

Lemon and Flaxseed Muffins

Ingredients

  • 2/3 cup almond meal
  • 1 1/3 cups gluten-free flour (I used Orgran)
  • 1/2 cup coconut nectar
  • 15 drops of liquid stevia concentrate
  • 1 tablespoon gluten-free baking powder
  • 140 grams pure apple puree (must be puree, not sauce, and sugar free)
  • 1 teaspoon bi-carb soda
  • 1/4 cup grapeseed oil
  • 3/4 cup nut milk
  • 3 tablespoons flax seeds
  • 2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
  • 1 tablespoon lemon zest

 

Method

For Thermomix:

  • Place all ingredients in the bowl and mix on speed 3 for 5 seconds, then up to speed 6 for 20 seconds

For traditional method:

  • Place all dry ingredients into a bowl and combine
  • Place all wet ingredients in a separate bowl and whisk together
  • Make a well in the dry ingredients and add wet ingredients
  • Mix until just combined – don’t over-mix
  • Spread mixture evenly between 12 muffin cases and bake for 25-30 minutes at 180 C, until a skewer comes out clean

image

Leave a Reply

