Raw Blueberry Pancakes – Recipe

imageI was ecstatic recently to have won an Excalibur dehydrator.  I’d been eying them off, but couldn’t bring myself to purchase one.  I didn’t really have a spare $500 anyway.  And for me, who doesn’t win anything, this was a huge event!

Whilst waiting for its arrival, I went hunting for all of those recipes I’d previously written off due to not having a dehydrator.  I have them all lined up ready to go, though have only made three so far.  The first were a batch of lemon cookies.  They were a little hum-ho, mostly I think because I didn’t have the thermostat high enough.  I also forgot to take a photo, so will post those when I retry them.

Next in line were raw blueberry pancakes – yummo!  Whilst not the light, fluffy traditional pancakes, I found these still to be pretty darn scrumptious, and will definitely be making them again!

Original Recipe from Alissa Cohen

Morning, Noon and Night Pancakes

Ingredients

Makes 10 pancakes

  • 2 cups pecans, soaked for 4 hours
  • 2 cups pine nuts 
  • 2 ripe bananas
  • 1 cup agave nectar
  • Seeds from 2 vanilla beans
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt
  • 2 cups blueberries, muddled

Method

  • Put the soaked pecans and any remaining soaking liquid, pine nuts, bananas, agave, vanilla, salt, and ½ cup water in a high-speed blender
  • Blend until smooth
  • Using a spatula, fold in the muddled blueberries.
  • With a ladle, drop ½ -cup measures of the batter onto Teflex-line dehydrator racks, leaving at least ½ inch between the pancakes.  They should be thick like pancakes, about ½ inch thick, not thin like crêpes
  • Dehydrate for 8 hours
  • Flip the pancakes onto clean Teflex sheets and dehydrate for 8 more hours.
  • Cover and refrigerate up to 3 days.

My Notes

Due to the pricey ingredients, I quartered the recipe and made 4 pancakes.  They’re quite filling, so 1 is ample for a serving

I used vanilla extract rather than seeds

I had to research what ‘muddled’ means, as I’m relatively new to the world of fine cuisine 🙂  Basically, lightly mashed

I ate my pancakes with coconut butter, and a little raw honey drizzled over the top mmmmmm

I kept the last pancake until day 4 and it was still fine.  Not sure how they lasted that long though….

image

Leave a Reply

