Chocolatiering

imageI don’t think that’s even a word, but it’s what I’ve been doing.  Chocolate – the real, straight stuff – is actually on the ‘superfood’ list, but the bitter taste can be a bit hard to enjoy.

In comes raw chocolate.

I have several different recipes, which I will experiment with over time.  This first one was ridiculously easy, and doesn’t have that real bitterness.  However, it does have a rather odd undertone that I’m not sure about.  I assume that’s from the coconut nectar, which I haven’t used much as yet.

Sharny & Julius held a demonstration at my local organic food store a few weeks ago, and I managed to catch the tail end of it.  I also wound up purchasing their book, Healthy Junk.  Whilst that was before our current dietary upheaval, there will still be quite a few recipes that I can use in it.  This is the first one.

Ingredients

  • 70g cacao butter
  • 1/2 cup cacao powder
  • 2 tablespoons coconut nectar
  • Seeds from 2 vanilla seed pods
  • Pinch of salt

Method

  • Melt cacao butter in a bowl over simmering water
  • Whisk in remaining ingredients until smooth
  • Pour into molds and place in the fridge to set

 

My Notes

In order to incorporate another superfood, I spread raw almonds in the bottom of a lined tray, then poured the chocolate over the top.  Once set, I broke it into pieces.

I used vanilla extract rather than seeds

Next time I will try either reducing the amount of coconut nectar, or a different sweetener altogether

Leave a Reply

