You Scream, I Scream, We All Scream for Icecream! Heavenly Raw Ice Cream Recipe

imageI’ve never been a huge ice cream eater. I really have to be ‘in the mood’, or if it’s a stinking hot day. That was before I discovered raw ice cream.

Ten times better than ‘normal’ ice cream, raw ice cream is just delightful – and guilt free!! I’ve tried a couple of recipes, and thought I’d share my favourite to date. I know I’ll be sampling quite a few more, and will share those with you as I go.

Original Recipe from The Raw Food Mum

 

Milli Vanilli Ice Cream

Ingredients

  • 2 frozen bananas
  • 1/4 cup of almond milk
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon

Method

  • Blend first three ingredients in a high powered blender until completely smooth.
  • Sprinkle with cinnamon

 

Caramel Topping

Ingredients

  • 2 tbsp of tahini
  • 1 tbsp of honey
  • 2 tbsp of almond milk
  • 5 dates soaked and pitted
  • A pinch of salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla

Method

  • Blend all ingredients in a high powered blender until smooth.

 

My Notes

Rather than sprinkle with cinnamon, I went with the Caramel Topping, found as a separate recipe in the “Little Book of Raw Ice Creams”

My topping turned out very thick, rather than a sauce-like consistence. Probably due to the fact I didn’t soak the dates.

Utterly yummy!

Leave a Reply

