General Health and Progress Update

table_balanceI mentioned recently that I became quite congested after eating non-raw meals. Well, it’s happened again! Once, I could write off as coincidence. Twice, I’m not so sure.

My mother, who lives with me as I’m her part-time carer, has somewhat reluctantly been joining me on the raw food journey. As I prepare all meals, she pretty much eats whatever I give her, however some raw meals have gone down better than others. I’ve successfully converted her to green smoothies and juices. Giving up meat, cheese and cooked food? Well, that’s another matter.

Therefore, in order to create some balance and keep the peace, I’ve been incorporating two or three cooked meals into my weekly meal plan. That still keeps me at around 70-80% raw, which is what I originally aimed at anyway. This week, tuna mornay was on the menu – thick, creamy, cheesy white sauce. And I felt terrible the next day! I actually woke myself up wheezing that night, as my asthma was playing up that badly.

Some cooked meals don’t seem to have affected me, such as fried rice, couscous and beef pot pies. It appears to be the high-dairy content meals that are the culprit.

We’ve also been working our way through a stock-pile of Hot cross buns.  Again, whether this is pure coincidence I’m not sure, but I have put 1kg back on. Not happy Jan!

Oh, and there’s that batch of rocky road I made to use up the marshmallows I had in the cupboard….

Mum has been referred to a naturopath, who takes a holistic approach to health. Diet and nutrition are part of what she looks at, along with offering a number of natural therapies. Research on her website has shown that she seems to use a combination of the GenoType diet, Paleo diet and Mediterranean diet as the basis for her nutrition plans. I’ve done a bit of research on each of these, and it could be interesting to see what the outcome is!

Has anyone experienced any of these diets? What are your thoughts?

Our appointment is on the 8th, so I’ll let you know how we go.

Leave a Reply

