Nasal Congestion Beaten – Decongestant Juice Recipe

file000878463335I don’t know if it was coincidence, or a food reaction, but on Thursday I had the worst battle with nasal congestion I’ve had for months. The image is a representation of how I was feeling!

On Wednesday night, I had my most ‘un-raw’ meal that I’ve had in some time.  It was noodles, vegetables and salmon in white sauce.  One of my previous quick and easy go-to meals after a long day at work.  I’m trying to clear out some ingredients from my pantry that I won’t be using any longer, and that night I chose the noodles and salmon.

Thursday morning, I was miserable!  Sneezing like crazy and completely clogged up.  Rather than popping cold and flu tablets, I pulled out the juicer.  The fridge was raided for pretty much anything that could be juiced, with some select key ingredients: lemon and ginger.  A similar theme to my cold-killer juice, though with more greens.

I don’t have a photo to share, as I wasn’t thinking clearly enough to remember to take one.  I also hope I haven’t forgotten any of the ingredients, as I didn’t write them down at the time.

Decongestant Juice

  • 2 apples
  • 2 large carrots
  • 1/2 lime peeled
  • 1 lemon, peeled
  • 4 kale leaves
  • 4 celery stalks
  • 1 beetroot
  • 2cm chunk ginger
  • Tumeric root (approx 4cm x 1cm)
  • 1 cucumber
Leave a Reply

