Juice Detox Day 5 – Juice Master Spring Clean

Well, I made it!  I am a little tardy with my update post, but I did indeed do the full 5 days of the detox.  Other than the headaches, I felt no negative side effects, though did find myself feeling lighter through the day.  And I did lose 1kg, an added bonus.  I can only wonder what would have happened if I followed the program to the letter!  Maybe next time.

I really enjoyed the breakfast/evening smoothie on Day 5, but struggled with the middles ones.  I’m not a fan of pears, and this juice retained that slightly gritty texture that pears have.  It also had a peculiar ‘earthy’ undertone to it, which I struggled with.

One of the things I have valued in this program is being forced to try new flavours that I would never have tried otherwise.  Some paid off, and I will actually have those juices again.  Others, well, let’s just leave them in the detox cupboard.

One reason I’m running late with this post is that I went away for my father’s 70th birthday party yesterday – the day following Day 5 of the detox.  From previous experience, I thought it would be fairly easy to find something reasonably healthy to eat.  Wrong!  Party pies, sausage rolls, meatballs, beef kebabs, prawn cocktails, and dairy-based desserts filled the menu.  I selected a couple of the ‘least worst’ items so I didn’t starve, but am really feeling the effects today.  Bloated, lethargic and generally flat.  So out came the juicer and blender this morning to try and flush away the ill effects of yesterday, and start clean again.

I’ll have to take my own dish next time and introduce them all to the wonders of raw.

imageSweet Beet Smoothie

  • 1 apple
  • 2 medium carrots
  • 1 medium red beet
  • 1 large handful of blackberries (fresh or frozen) – I used mixed berries (raspberries, strawberries & blackberries)
  • Small handful of ice

 

 

 

 

 

image

Pear ‘n’ Parsnip

  • 1 apple
  • 2 pears
  • 1 medium parsnip
  • 1/2 peeled lime
  • 4 sprigs mint
Leave a Reply

