Juice Detox Day 1 – Juice Master Spring Clean

image001-6Well, I have survived the first day of my first ever detox! It actually wasn’t as painful as I expected. There was only one period where I was feeling hungry, but otherwise, the juices and smoothies were keeping me well satiated.

As you have probably gathered by now, preparation is not something I always think of, and I sometimes decide to jump into things before entirely thinking them through. I would never have previously labelled myself as impulsive, and I don’t think I still would. I deliberate long and hard about important decisions, and research all avenues before making my choice. However, it’s once I’ve made that choice that things go a little pear shaped. I then become very impatient, and want to act on my decision – now!

This is where I found myself. This is a JUICE detox, yet I don’t have a juicer. Well I did purchase a small manual juicer when I first decided to go raw, but found it far too painful to use, so it has been sitting in the cupboard. It would never work for this detox, as it takes a good 10-15 minutes to make 100ml of juice – I’d be standing there cranking all day!

I have been using my Thermomix to make juice, by blending and then straining through a nut milk bag. This works a treat, and I have used it many times, however it once again becomes a time factor. This was my method for Day 1. Yet chopping, blending and straining two large servings of juice is simply not practical in my mad rush of getting ready for work. I will leave this for weekends, when I have a little more time.

The other major hurdle with this is that I cannot make a small juice. The first item on the menu is a shot-sized juice, and this simply did not work in the Thermomix.

Hence, last night after work, I purchased a juicer. It’s a centrifugal juicer, which is not the ideal for the raw diet. For me though, with limited time, space and money, it is the best option for now.

Anyway, back to the detox. The plan is to start each day with the Ginger Shot, then there are two serves each of two different juices throughout the day.

Turbo with a Kick

  • 2 apples
  • ¼ pineapple
  • 1 handful of baby spinach leaves
  • ½ lime, peeled
  • ½ stalk of celery
  • 3cm cucumber
  • 1 cm ginger
  • ¼ ripe avocado
  • 1 handful of ice

 

This was made in the Thermomix as a smoothie. One of the nicest smoothies I’ve had to date!

 

Natural Energiser

  • ¼ pineapple
  • 1 large handful of baby spinach leaves
  • ¼ medium cucumber
  • 1cm fennel
  • ½ medium zucchini
  • 15 sugar snap peas or beans
  • ½ lime
  • 1 handful of ice

 

I made this one in the Thermomix and strained through the nut milk bag. First sip saw an interesting face being pulled – not too sure on this one! By the end though, it was quite palatable, though I still couldn’t truly say I enjoyed it. Very much a veggie juice.

No real side effects from the detox as yet, other than a slight headache. I’m hoping to avoid drastic repercussions! Fingers crossed.

Leave a Reply

