Cold-Killer Juice Recipe

imageI have been a little quiet over the last week.  This is due in part to a sequence of events that caused life to spin a little out of control; and partly due to me trying not to get sick.

Friday saw me with a snuffly nose, sneezing, coughing, killer headache, and that general feeling of blegh.  A cold or flu was doing its utmost to pin me down.  I don’t have time to be sick!

However, I brewed up a killer cocktail that caused that bug to hightail it out of here.  By Saturday, the worst of the symptoms had greatly subsided, and by Monday, all that remained was a slightly sniffy nose.

The Cold-Killer Juice was roughly based on the Dragon Juice recipe I obtained from Tansy at the workshop  I attended last month.  As my head was too foggy to track down that recipe, I just threw together some of the key ingredients I could remember, and that I know to have excellent anti-bug properties.

The result was pretty potent, but it truly did help clear my head.

image

RFD Original Recipe, adapted from Raw Food & Joyful Eating with Tansy

Ingredients

  • 1 orange, peeled and segmented
  • 1 lemon, peeled and segmented
  • 4 baby carrots
  • 1 cucumber
  • Chunk of ginger, approx. 1 inch square, peeled
  • 1 clove of Russian garlic
  • ½ teaspoon of cayenne pepper
  • 1 tablespoon raw honey
  • 4 ice cubes

Method

  • Blend all ingredients thoroughly and strain through nut milk bag

or

  • Juice all ingredients together (ice cubes not required)

This makes 2 servings.  Gently sip throughout the day.

image

One response

  1. Pingback: Nasal Congestion Beaten – Decongestant Juice Recipe | rawfooddiaries

Leave a Reply

