Raw Pasta Revolution Recipe #3 – Alfredo (version 2)

20140206-141512.jpgWhilst yesterday’s Alfredo recipe is my favourite, this recipe is also very scrumptious!  It is a bit of a lighter version, reminiscent of a cream sauce rather than a cheese sauce.

I like to mix it up, so sometimes will use this version, and sometimes #1 version.  You will no doubt find your own favourite.

One thing I will mention is that I am still adapting to the use of raw garlic.  When using it raw, the flavour and ‘kick’ are condensed, as they aren’t sweated out during a sautéing process.

The first time I made this recipe, I think I could have breathed fire.  There were certainly no vampires in the near vicinity!  Now, I tend to use only half the recommended amount of garlic in a recipe.  But if you really like garlic, go for it!

 

Original Recipe from The Rawtarian

Ingredients

  • 2 ½ cups cashews
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 1 ½ cups water
  • 1 teaspoon thyme spice
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt

Method

  • Throw it all in the blender and blend til it gets alfredoey!  It’ll get really nice and creamy, so keep blending…and you’re done!
  • Serve over raw noodles

 

My Notes

As always, I find grinding the cashews into meal first provides a smoother end result
3 cloves of garlic!  One is sufficient for me, but each to his own.
I used some mixed dried herbs, as I didn’t have thyme spice (the mix included thyme, oregano & rosemary)

4 responses

Leave a Reply

