Disaster Averted – Not So Raw Almond Biscuits

imageOn the last day of my so-called holidays, I went a little bit mad in the kitchen, trying out several new recipes.  The results were mixed.

The Chewy Cashew Balls were divine.

The chia pudding was OK.

The Raw Shortbread was a disaster!  Nothing wrong with the recipe whatsoever, but I managed to muck it up big time.  However, all was not lost.  With a bit of trial and error, I was able to make edible, if no longer raw, biscuits.  Let me fill you in.

Original recipe from Shine on Raw:

Ingredients

  • 1 cup ground cashews
  • ¼ cup of cashew butter
  • ¼ cup of melted coconut oil
  • 3 tablespoons of coconut sugar
  • 2 tablespoons of syrup (agave, maple syrup, yacon etc)
  • 1 tablespoon of lucuma (optional)
  • 1-2 tablespoons of water

Method

  • Place all ingredients in a blender and blend until well combined
  • Press the mixture evenly into a spring form pan or baking trayimage

Sounds easy, right?  Well, I managed to make a royal mess of it.  My major error was to use store-bought almond butter in place of the cashew butter.  While it was raw, it had separated to the point where the top half of the jar was almost purely oil.  I tried re-combining it back to its original paste form, however there was still a major excess of oil dumped into the above mixture.  This became glaringly apparent when I tipped the mix into the baking tray, and pools of oil started forming.  Bad sign #1.

Bad sign #2 was the inability to spread the mixture and press it into the pan in any reasonable fashion.  It felt like I was taking a mud bath, with sticky goo all over spoon, spatula and hands by the time I was done.

Bad sign #3 – puddles of oil collecting all over the top and along the edges of the shortbread.  Using paper towel, I was able to mop up the excess, though I lost count of the number of sheets I went through.

The tray was then popped into the fridge, with fingers crossed that it would magically transform into tasty shortbread.  Alas, that was not to be.  When I served it for afternoon tea, the oil continued to seep out all over plates and fingers, and I’ll admit that it was not a pleasant thing to eat.

Next attempt at salvage was to put the slice on a plate lined with paper towel, with more paper towel on top, and into the fridge overnight.  By morning, it appeared that the excess oil had finally been removed!  I then decided to pop it into the oven on a low temperature to see if I could crisp it up.  It worked!

In place of cashew shortbread, I now had crispy almond biscuits.  I did also wind up sprinkling a little bit of sugar over the top as well, as I think all of the syrup had leaked out with the oil and they were lacking that little bit of ‘something’.  At least they were edible.  I have a major dislike of throwing out food, and will always try to resurrect failures if at all possible.

When I next attempt to make raw shortbread, I will most definitely be making my own cashew butter!  I’ll let you know the result.

One response

Leave a Reply

