Raw Rice Salad Recipe

imageFinding quick and easy evening meals has been an unexpected bonus of investigating the Raw Food lifestyle.

I’m not entirely sure why, but I had the expectation that eating healthy equals long preparation times.  Whilst there are some recipes that do require forward planning and preparation, there are a raft of quick and simple ones too.

This recipe was originally ‘Rice and Crunchy Vegetables’.  I tried that version initially, with carrot and broccoli as my chosen vegetables; however, I found that it was a little dry.  By changing it to a salad, and using a few ingredients with creamy and juicy textures, I found it much more enjoyable.

 

Original recipe from Shine on Raw:

Ingredients

  • 3 medium parsnips
  • 1/4 cup macadamia nuts
  • 1/4 cup pine nuts
  • 1/4 cup desiccated coconut soaked in warm water for 20 minutes
  • Juice of 1/2 a lemon
  • Pinch of salt
  • Vegetables of choice

Method

  • Chop parsnips into chunks
  • Place all ingredients other than the ‘vegetables of choice’ into a food processor and process until the mixture resembles rice
  • Add in the vegetables and stir through the rice

 

My Notes

I usually forget to soak the coconut for the full 20 minutes, but find that soaking it for 10 minutes is sufficient.  I add enough water to just cover the coconut, and add the entire mix to the food processor.

The processing time is very short to achieve the right texture.  Keep an eye on it, and pulse once you think it is getting close.  You don’t want to over-do it and wind up with a gluggy mess.

For my salad version, I added:

  • 1 tomato, diced
  • 1 baby carrot, finely diced
  • Good handful of baby spinach, roughly chopped
  • Roughly 2 tablespoons of mixed sprouts (chickpeas, mung beans, lentils)
  • 1 avocado, diced

This produces 2 good serves, though it is quite filling, so next time I will likely reserve half of the rice mixture in the fridge for the next day.

My Photos

Leave a Reply

