Keylime Pie Recipe – Fresh, Tangy & Delicious

imageKeylime Pie was the first raw dessert I’d ever had – going back a few years, from my local organic cafe.

However, they stopped making it, and I had forgotten about it until I stumbled across this recipe.

I knew straight away that I had to try it.  Keylime Pie is so fresh and tangy, with that zingy citrus taste – so yummy!  As usual, I didn’t follow the recipe to the letter, so below you will find the original recipe, along with my notes and photos.  Enjoy!

Please Like, Comment & Share.

Original Recipe from Tanya Alekseeva at Better Raw:

Equipment
  • Removable bottom 10 inch tart pan
  • Blender
  • Food Processor
Crust
  • 1 Cup Walnuts, soaked 2-8 hours
  • 1 Cup desiccated coconut
  • 2 Cups Dates, soaked 2 hours
  • 1/3 Cup Cacao powder
  • Pinch salt
Filling
  • 1 Cup Cashews, soaked 2-8 hours
  • 1 Cup lime juice (about 5 large or 8 small limes)
  • 2 Avocados
  • 1 medium Mango
  • 1/3 Cup Coconut Butter, gently melted
  • 1/3 Cup Agave
Method
  • Start with making the crust by processing the walnuts with an S Blade of your food processor
  • Squeeze the water out of the dates, add them to the food processor and pulse
  • When the dates appear roughly chopped, add the remaining crust ingredients and process well
  • Scoop the entire mixture into a pie pan and spread it evenly over the bottom and the sides with your hands. Do not rush this process
  • Start preparing the filling by blending soaked cashews and lime juice until smooth
  • Add the remaining filling ingredients and blend on high. Use a tamper for a powerful blender or pulse for standard blender
  • Pour the mixture into the crusted mould and lightly wiggle the pan from side to side to flatten the pie
  • Transfer to a freezer
  • Best served about 4 hours after freezing or if left to freeze overnight or longer, simply thaw for an hour in the fridge to soften

 

My Notes

For the crust, I used activated walnuts, and didn’t soak them.  I also used fresh medjool dates (11 of them, not quite 2 cups worth), and didn’t soak them either.  I found the mixture was still moist enough to bind together to form the crust.

For the filling, I wound up using 11 limes (all quite small), and still didn’t have 1 cup of juice.  I topped up the volume with water.  The mixture is still very tangy and limey, so there is no loss of flavour.

I didn’t have any coconut butter, and didn’t have enough shredded coconut to make my own, so I used coconut oil instead.

I used maple syrup in place of agave.

I was over-eager to try some, so took my first slices after the pie had been in the freezer for only 3hrs.  As you may be able to see in the photos below, it was not frozen all the way through (still tasted fine!).  I then found when I tried to cut it into pieces the following day, that I had to leave it out to soften for about 30 minutes.

My Photos

Leave a Reply

