Eating Cold Food is Not Cool – or is it?

When I first started looking into what the Raw Diet entailed, I’ll admit that I was a little put off by the thought of eating everything cold. One of the key elements of the Raw Diet is that food is not heated above 46° C (115° F), as that is when the valuable enzymes and nutrient start to be destroyed.

So I’m reading recipes for ‘pasta’, ‘rice’ and soup, and thinking that they couldn’t possibly taste too great at room temperature. Was I in for a pleasant surprise!

Not only were they edible, but downright delicious!

I’m a huge pasta lover, but will admit that being able to make zucchini ‘spaghetti’ in 30 seconds with my spirooli is so quick and easy, that I’m almost preferring it over cooked pasta. It has taken me a couple of tries to achieve a smooth and creamy alfredo-style sauce, however I think I’ve got it nailed. Using my Thermomix, I grind the nuts into fine meal first, then add the remaining ingredients and blend until lovely and smooth.

I do need to make another attempt at soup though. My first try tasted fine, but it was more a bowl of lumps than a soup. Ah well, live and learn!

One response

  1. Pingback: Raw Pasta Revolution – Recipe 1 Basil Pesto Pasta | rawfooddiaries

Leave a Reply

